You are here

News & Announcements

Check this page, or the News and Announcements box on the homepage, for the latest official news and announcements released by the court. You can also access archived news and announcements from this page.

Wed, 01/13/2021

WHEREAS, in response to recent disclosures of wide-spread breaches of both private sector and government computer systems, federal courts are immediately adding new security procedures to protect highly sensitive documents filed with the courts...

Mon, 01/11/2021

The Clerk’s Office for the United States District Court for the District of Vermont provides administrative, operational, and technical support to the federal court at two staffed locations: Burlington, and Rutland. This position is located in...

Mon, 01/04/2021

This order extends the authorization for the use of video and telephone conferencing technology in light of the continuing COVID-19 emergency. By General Order No. 93 dated September 25, 2020, the court authorized the extension of the use of...

Thu, 12/03/2020

NOTICE: Access to CJA eVoucher will be unavailable or users may experience latency on Saturday, December 5, 2020, from 9 am to 10 am (EST) and 2 pm to 5:00 pm (EST) for planned maintenance. ...

Mon, 11/30/2020

Due to the holidays, the Clerk's Offices (all locations) will be closed on the following dates:

  • Thursday, December 24, 2020
  • Friday, December 25, 2020
  • Thursday, December 31, 2020
  • Friday, January 1, 2021...
Wed, 11/25/2020

The Clerk's Office (all locations) will be closed on Thursday, November 26, 2020, and Friday, November 27, 2020, to celebrate the Thanksgiving holiday. The court's Electronic Case Files (ECF) and Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER)...

Mon, 11/16/2020

On November 15, 2020, a member of the courthouse security team tested positive for COVID‐19. This individual was present in the courtroom for a jury selection hearing on the 5th floor of the Burlington courthouse on Monday, November 9, 2020 and...

Mon, 10/26/2020

A copy of the Pro Bono Work to Empower and Represent Act of 2018 (the “POWER Act”) virtual discussion is now available upon request from the court.

Thu, 10/01/2020

The Pro Bono Work to Empower and Represent Act of 2018 (the “POWER Act”) aims to help victims and survivors of domestic violence gain access to pro bono legal services. Under the Act, the chief judge in each judicial district must host at least...

Wed, 09/30/2020

The United States District Court for the District of Vermont is pleased to announce that Assistant United States Attorney Kevin J. Doyle of South Burlington, Vermont has been selected to become the district’s next United States Magistrate Judge...

Pages